BuzzSumo

Who Are The Top 100 PR Influencers To Follow In 2021?

What we’ve learned from the top PR influencers

Followers aren’t everything

The honor of having the most followers on the list goes to, surprisingly, the 76th most influential account @simonhuck.

What about following? The account with the second highest number of followers on the list, @publicityguru, returns the love by following the most number of people – but sits in position 77.

Both of these accounts are relatively low in terms of influence, which goes to show that quantity of followers isn’t the key to being influential. It seems to be more important to focus on quality content and conversation to build influence.

Always create conversation

When we focus on the engagement-led conversational metrics BuzzSumo offers, we can see a different picture of influence. These metrics showcase the influencers’ ability to generate strong engagement – which can often be prioritized over followers – and is super important for both PRs and their clients.

For instance, if you’re launching a new product, retweets will help get the message out there, so you’re going to want to engage with audiences that are likely to retweet. And if you’re looking for influential PRs for inspiration and a sense of community, you might be more interested in accounts with high reply ratios, so that you can join the conversation.

The account on the list with the highest average retweets is unsurprisingly within the top 10 PR influencers. Taking position 8, @andrewbloch averages a mammoth 10 retweets per tweet!

Influence is multi-faceted

While the number one most influential PR account, @richleighpr, has fewer followers than some accounts on the list, he’s part of a tight community who will listen to what he says. He’s got a blue tick, 72% of his tweets are replies and he gets an average of two retweets for each tweet. His influence seems to come from having a polished presence, and leading the conversation.

This all goes to show that while individual metrics are important, it seems the way to get to the top of this list is to have the perfect balance of a few of them – something PRs know a thing or two about, given all those hats they wear.

Influence is a fickle creature, especially for PRs, but having an insight into what creates it can help. If you want to understand influence or create your own influencer list, BuzzSumo is here for you – try our 30 day free trial.

The Top 100 PR Influencers To Follow In 2021

Position Influencer Twitter Handle
1 Rich Leigh @richleighpr
2 Natasha Koifman @natashankpr
3 Kami Huyse @kamichat
4 Stephen Waddington @wadds
5 Deirdre Breakenridge @dbreakenridge
6 Peter Himler @peterhimler
7 Sarah Evans @prsarahevans
8 Andrew Bloch @andrewbloch
9 Kelli Matthews @kmatthews
10 Brian Hart @brianhartpr
11 Tressa Robbins @tressalynne
12 Martin Waxman @martinwaxman
13 Ty Mays @perfectpitchpr
14 Richie Escovedo, APR @vedo
15 dorothy crenshaw @dorocren
16 Kellye Crane @kellyecrane
17 Mary Lower @prmoxie
18 Julie Bonn Blank @juliebonnblank
19 Jenna Oltersdorf @jennasnacks
20 Abbie S. Fink @abbief
21 Michael Sebastian @msebastian
22 Heather Whaling @prtini
23 Mark Borkowski @markborkowski
24 Kristie Aylett, APR @kristk
25 Bob Pickard @bobpickard
26 Andy Barr @10yetis
27 Rick Murray @rickmurray
28 Frank Strong @frank_strong
29 Ron Culp @culpwrit
30 Aleesha C @aleeshacpr
31 Marian Salzman @mariansalzman
32 Valerie Simon @valeriesimon
33 Ed Zitron @edzitron
34 Charlie Dahan @cbdahan
35 Sally Falkow @sallyfalkow
36 Cathy Larkin @cathywebsavvypr
37 Hans Kullin @kullin
38 Jennifer Berson @jenerationpr
39 Ike Pigott @ikepigott
40 Sachar Klein @sachark
41 Elise Mitchell @elisemitch
42 Todd Defren @tdefren
43 Melissa Agnes @melissa_agnes
44 Katie Moffat @katiemoffat
45 Thomas Pleil @tp_da
46 Peter Shankman @petershankman
47 Stuart Bruce @stuartbruce
48 Keisha McCotry @keishamccotry
49 Karen Swim @karenswim
50 Aliah Davis-McHenry @aliahpr
51 Shonali Burke @shonali
52 Elissa Freeman @elissapr
53 Todd Van Hoosear @vanhoosear
54 Alex Shapiro @alexshapiropr
55 Dirk Singer @dirktherabbit
56 TechPRMaven @techprmaven
57 Barbara B. Nixon @barbaranixon
58 Katherine Roepke @roepkepr
59 Daniel Tisch @dantisch
60 Christoph Salzig @pr_ip
61 Nathan Burgess @prcog
62 David Teicher @aerocles
63 Pam Perry @pamperry
64 Deborah Weinstein @debweinstein
65 Rachel Kay @rachelakay
66 Joseph Thornley @thornley
67 Michelle Olson @shelbyo
68 Courtney Forrest @courtyforrest
69 Jeremy Pepper @jspepper
70 Jon Silk @jonsilk
71 Charlotte Shaff @charshaff
72 Ashley Oakes Scott @ashleyoakes
73 Judy Gombita @jgombita
74 Karla Jo Helms @jotopr
75 Mark Ragan @markraganceo
76 Simon Huck @simonhuck
77 Bill Stoller @publicityguru
78 Shel Holtz @shelholtz
79 Kate Finley @kateupdates
80 Alison Brod @alisonbrodmc
81 Neville Hobson @jangles
82 Nicole Garner Scott @drgarnerscott
83 John Sternal @sternalpr
84 Mikinzie Stuart @mikinzie
85 Catherine Hill @chillpr
86 Paula Johns @paulajohns
87 Aerial M. Ellis @aerialellis
88 Stu Campbell-Carran @mrstucampbell
89 Sandra Fathi @sandrafathi
90 Candice Nicole @candicenicolepr
91 Adam Isserlis @adamiss
92 Lizz Harmon @lizzharmon
93 Kirk Hazlett @kirkhazlett
94 Ken Jacobs @kensviews
95 Stephan Fink @stephanfink
96 Sabine de Witte @sabinedewitte
97 Lacey Haines @laceyhaines
98 Brad Phillips @mrmediatraining
99 Mike Schaffer @mikeschaffer
100 Dave Fleet @davefleet

Read Full Article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button